John P. Leger (1865 - 1952)

Best known in Bathurst as John Leger, baptized Jean P. Léger, he was born in Bouctouche on April 20, 1865. He was the son of Pierre "Peter" à Etienne and Ursule LeBlanc. Ursule is the sister of Frédéric LeBlanc, grandfather of Bishop Albini LeBlanc, former Bishop of Hearst. John Léger and Monsignor Albini LeBlanc were cousins.

John Léger (1865 - 1952)
John Léger (1865 - 1952)
Facebook, posted by René Doucet, 2018-01-25
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

John P. Leger’s father died before December 26, 1877. John’s mother, Ursule, remarried on this day, Marcel Daigle, son of Olivier Daigle and Rosalie Mius. The 1881 census lists John with Marcel and Ursule, he was 15 years old.

November 4th, 1884, he married in Bouctouche, Marie LeBlanc, daughter of Maximin LeBlanc and Julie Richard. Two children were born from this marriage: Pierre “Peter” Léger and Ursule Léger.

April 9th, 1888, he married in Bouctouche, Osithe Cormier, daughter of Olivier Cormier and Geneviève LeBlanc. Eight children were born from this marriage: Hector, Régina, Léo, Marie Eugénie Démerise, Arthur, Alice, Edmond and Elie.

In 1898, John sold his Hotel Queen in Bouctouche to Robert Gallant, to settle in Bathurst, where in March 1898, he bought Aimé Gallant's hotel near the InterColonial Railway station (ICR), at the foot of the College's coast, and he gave it the name of Hotel Leger.

An enterprising man, he endowed his hotel with the latest facilities. Thus, the Moniteur Acadien of June 20, 1899 announced: “(translation) Mr. John P. Léger has just introduced into his hotel an instrument by which all money received during the day is automatically recorded. It is the only instrument of this kind used in the county.” He was the pioneer of cash registers in Gloucester County.

Although his success in the hotel business was exceptional, it was not his greatest distinction.

His first achievement of a community nature took place shortly after his arrival here. The Bathurst trotting park had fallen into disuse and even the fences were about to be removed, when Mr. Leger took hold and after a few hours' work secured the assistance of leading citizens and directed the grading of a race course that for many years after was the scene of notable horse races.

Leger Hotel - Bathurst, picture taken before 1908
The Leger Hotel ca 1905.
Found at the Bathurst Heritage Museum.

Facebook, posted by Rene Doucet, 2015-05-25
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

Always a lover of the drama, his next venture was to provide a playhouse suitable for many traveling companies of the time. The only public hall which the town boasted at that time was neither large enough nor properly arranged to accommodate the better class of entertainments. Consequently, Mr. Leger proceeded to erect the commodious and ornate structure called the Opera House, which for many years was the amusement centre of the community.

Then came the enterprise that will make his name secure in Bathurst's history. His fertile mind, always looking for progress, conceived the idea of installing electric light in the town where he was so firmly established. Encouraged and assisted by his intimate friend of many years, the late Hon. P.J. Veniot, he finally decided that the Tetagouche River would provide ample hydro power for the greater part of each year. Some people discouraged him, some scoffed at the proposal and others were willing to let him try if it cost them nothing. So, he proceeded with his dream, gambling all his resources on the first hydro development in this province, if not in the Maritimes. In 1904, the project was completed, and electric current made its appearance in Bathurst, generated from a small plant near Tetagouche Falls. It was some years before Mr. Leger's optimism was fully justified and the enterprise became profitable. Bathurst and its vicinity reaped the greatest advantage of electric light and power and the first real step in the town's modern progress became a reality.

The great achievement did not by any means complete his progressive activities. When motion pictures rose to favor as public entertainment, it was he who equipped and operated the Opera House as Bathurst's first movie theatre, and his son, Peter J. Leger, who managed that enterprise, now the Capitol Theatre, has ever since been one of the leading theatre men of the province. In 1920, Mr. Leger disposed of his interest in Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co. Ltd., to Bathurst Power and Paper Co. Ltd., and a short time later established the Gloucester Hotel.

Always on the lookout for investment in new businesses, the Moniteur Acadien, August 11, 1904, said:

"(translation) Mr. John P. Léger ... is aiming for a new industry for his place of adoption (Bathurst) ... He would be thinking of providing the Village of Bathurst with an improved flour mill and a carding mill that would be driven by the electricity provided by the installed electricity plant for Bathurst lighting. It is said that he is negotiating with Mr. S (ydney) Desbrisay for the purchase of the Petit Rocher flour mill machines he would be transporting to Bathurst ... "

The great success of the electric dam has in no way completed its progressive activities.

Moreover, in March 1903, he acquired a piece of land "where he had to build a 100-by-40-storey, three-storey building, including a public hall of modern architecture, a sample lounge, offices, and so on. ". This is arguably the big building called Opera House on Water Street (now Main Street), Bathurst's main street at the time, which will accommodate a busy modern movie theater near the W J Kent store. When the cinema became a public entertainment, it was he who equipped and operated the Opera as the first Bathurst movie theater, and his son, Peter J. Leger, who ran the company, now the Capitol Theater, was always of the principal theater men of the province.

John P. Leger family
John P. Leger family (ca 1910)
front (left to right): Osithe, Edmond, Peter, John
back (left to right): Régina, Arthur, Hector, Leo and Marie-Ursule

Facebook, posted by Rene Doucet, 2018-06-16
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

On March 8, 1911, the Evangeline reported that John P Léger "(translation) must build a new lock on the Tetagouche River for the installation of his new power." The city's population was becoming accustomed to electric lighting and was becoming more and more demanding, so that the low power generated by the first installation no longer met the growing demands for electrical energy. People said that light bulbs did not light up more than old candles.

By the end of December 1912, James Hill's cement lock at Chatham, 270 feet long by 30 feet high with a 62-foot drop, had been completed. The flow valve blasted into the solid rock overlooked a passage between the rocks, which had been opened by the owner of an old mill at the foot of the falls. In 1919, he sold his electric power, which operated under the name of Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co to the Bathurst Mill Company, "(translation) a new company doing gigantic work in the mine village: it is said that the powers will be enough strong enough to send power to Quebec City.

On Monday, May 25, 1908, sparks from the locomotives had set fire to the Intercolonial's freight sheds and coal shed in Bathurst to spread to the Léger Hotel where John was living, causing $ 10,000 in losses.

The case came to court. Mr. Léger demanded $ 7,000 in damages to his house and buildings, while Intercolonial allowed only $ 5,000. The case was appealed and this time the lawyers were more demanding so that in November 1910, he obtained a total compensation of $ 17,000.

Meanwhile the rebuilt hotel was sold to Azade Landry of Moncton who took possession of it on Monday, May 16, 1910. The Leger Hotel was still to be burnt down on February 3, 1915, forcing the occupants to flee running, including the priests Dutour of Paquetville and Jean Doucet of Bathurst who deplored the loss of "(translation) his beautiful fur coat". By launching into the production of an electricity-producing plant, John Léger wanted to be able to supply his businesses: his hotels, his movie theater and a modern bakery where everything is done by means of electricity and for which he had hired at the beginning of December 1920 a baker with 19 years of experience. Its bakery, Leger's Bakery, was in the basement of the Opera House, a novelty at the time. The bakery had its own truck to ensure the delivery of fresh bread throughout the region.

In 1920, Mr. Leger sold his interest in Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co. Ltd. at Bathurst Power and Paper Co. Ltd. and established shortly after the Gloucester Hotel.

This is a brief overview of the many public services that this man, John P. Leger, initiated in and for Bathurst. For his entrepreneurial spirit, John Léger was certainly one of the great promoters of the development of the city of Bathurst at the beginning of the century. He was called "King of Commerce in Bathurst". John died in Bathurst on April 12, 1952 at age 90, with a funeral in the cathedral by Bishop Dosithé Robichaud.

SOURCES

Evariste Léger:- Histoire de Saint-Antoine, p 22.
The Gloucester Northern Light: 1915-02-10 p 4; 1938-04-07; 1943-12-30.
L'Evangéline: 1889-06-02 p 3; 1911-03-08; 1915-02-10; 1919-12-15 p 4; 1920-12-09; 1920-12-15 p 3; 1930-06-26 p 5.
Le Courrier des Provinces Maritimes: 1898-03-31; 1903-06-25.
Le Moniteur Acadien: 1898-06-20; 1903-03-30 p 7; 1904-02-04 p 7; 1904-08-11 p 5; 1908-05-28; 1909-06-17; 1910-05-19; 1910-12-01 p 3.
The World, Chatham, 1913-01-08 p 2 c 3; 1911-02-22.
Moncton Daily Times, 1952-04-17, pg 2
The Busy East (1920), p 68.
Registre paroissial: Bouctouche.

English

John P. Leger (1865 - 1952)

Mieux connu à Bathurst comme John Léger, baptisé Jean P. Léger, il est né à Bouctouche, le 20 avril 1865. Son père était Pierre « Peter » à Etienne Léger et sa mère Ursule LeBlanc, soeur de Frédéric LeBlanc, grand-père de Mgr Albini LeBlanc, ancien évêque de Hearst. John Léger et Mgr Albini LeBlanc étaient donc cousins.

John Léger (1865 - 1952)
John Léger (1865 - 1952)
Facebook, posted by René Doucet, 2018-01-25
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

Le père de John P. Leger est décédé avant le 26 décembre 1877. La mère de John, Ursule, s'est remariée ce jour-là. Elle a épousé Marcel Daigle, fils d'Olivier Daigle et de Rosalie Mius. Le recensement de 1881 liste John avec Marcel et Ursule, il avait 15 ans.

Le 4 novembre 1884, il épousait à Bouctouche, Marie LeBlanc, fille de Maximin LeBlanc et Julie Richard. Deux enfants sont nés de ce mariage, Pierre « Peter » Léger et Ursule Léger.

Le 9 avril 1888, il épousait à Bouctouche, Osithe Cormier, fille d’Olivier Cormier et Geneviève LeBlanc. Huit enfants sont nés de ce mariage, Hector, Régina, Léo, Marie Eugénie Démerise, Arthur, Alice, Edmond et Elie.

En 1898, John vendait son Hotel Queen à Bouctouche à Robert Gallant, pour venir s'installer à Bathurst, où en mars 1898 il faisait l'achat de l'hôtel de Aimé Gallant, près de la gare de l’InterColonial Railway (ICR) au pied de la côte du Collège, et il lui donnait le nom d’Hôtel Léger.

Homme entreprenant, il dotait son hôtel des derniers aménagements. Ainsi, le Moniteur Acadien du 20 juin 1899 annonçait: « M. John P. Léger vient d'introduire dans son hôtel un instrument par lequel tout argent reçu dans la journée est enregistré automatiquement. C'est le seul instrument de ce genre en usage dans le comté ». Il était donc le pionnier des caisses enregistreuses dans le comté de Gloucester.

Bien que son succès dans l'hôtellerie fût exceptionnel, ce ne fut pas sa plus grande distinction.

Sa première réalisation de nature communautaire a eu lieu peu de temps après son arrivée ici. Le parc de trotteurs de Bathurst était tombé en désuétude et même les barrières étaient sur le point d'être enlevées. M. Leger a pris le relais et après quelques heures de travail a obtenu l'aide de personnes notables et a supervisé l’installation d’une piste de course. Par la suite, cette piste fut la scène de courses de chevaux notables.

Leger Hotel - Bathurst, picture taken before 1908
The Leger Hotel ca 1905.
Found at the Bathurst Heritage Museum.

Facebook, poasted by Rene Doucet, 2015-05-25
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

Un amoureux du théâtre, sa prochaine entreprise était de fournir une salle de spectacle adaptée à de nombreuses troupes de théâtre de l'époque. La seule salle publique dont la ville se vantait à cette époque, n'était ni assez grande ni convenablement aménagée pour accueillir les meilleurs artistes. Par conséquent, M. Léger a procédé à l'érection d’une structure pratique et très bien décorée. Cette structure était appelée l’Opera House, qui pendant de nombreuses années était le centre d'amusement de la communauté.

Puis vint l'entreprise qui assurera la sécurité de son nom dans l'histoire de Bathurst. Avec son esprit fertile, il était toujours à la recherche du progrès. Il voulait installer la lumière électrique dans la ville. Encouragé et aidé par son grand ami depuis plusieurs années, le regretté Hon. P.J. Veniot, il estimait que la rivière Tetagouche fournirait suffisamment d'énergie hydraulique pour la plus grande partie de chaque année. Certaines personnes le décourageaient, d'autres se moquaient de la proposition et d'autres étaient prêts à le laisser essayer aussi longtemps que cela ne leur coûterait rien. Il a donc réalisé son rêve en jouant toutes ses ressources sur le premier développement hydroélectrique de cette province, sinon dans les Maritimes. En 1904, le projet fut achevé et le courant électrique apparut à Bathurst, provenant d'une petite usine près de Tetagouche Falls. Quelques années se sont écoulées avant que l'optimisme de M. Leger soit pleinement justifié et que l'entreprise devienne rentable. Bathurst et ses environs ont récolté le plus grand avantage de la lumière et de la puissance électriques et la première vraie étape dans le progrès moderne de la ville est devenue une réalité.

La grande réussite n'a en aucun cas complété ses activités progressistes. Quand le cinéma est devenu un divertissement public, c'est lui qui a équipé et exploité l'Opéra comme le premier cinéma de Bathurst, et son fils, Peter J. Leger, qui dirigeait cette entreprise, maintenant le Théâtre Capitol, a toujours été des principaux hommes de théâtre de la province. En 1920, M. Leger cède sa participation dans Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co. Ltd. à Bathurst Power and Paper Co. Ltd. et, peu de temps après, établit l'hôtel Gloucester.

Toujours à l'affût d'investir dans de nouvelles entreprises, le Moniteur Acadien du 11 août 1904 racontait:

« M. John P. Léger...vise une nouvelle industrie pour sa place d'adoption (Bathurst)...II songerait à doter le Village de Bathurst d'un moulin à farine perfectionné et d'un moulin à carder qui seraient mus par l'électricité fournie par la plante d'électricité installée pour l'éclairage de Bathurst. On dit qu'il est en négociation avec M. S(ydney) Desbrisay pour l'achat des machines du moulin à farine de Petit Rocher qu'il transporterait à Bathurst... »

La grande réussite du barrage électrique n'a en aucun cas complété ses activités progressistes.

D'ailleurs en mars 1903, il acquit un terrain « où il doit construire une bâtisse de 100 pieds sur 40, à trois étages, y comprenant une salle publique d'architecture moderne, de salon d'échantillon, de bureaux, etc. ». C'est sans doute le grand édifice qui s'appellera Opera House sur la rue Water (maintenant rue Main), la rue principale de Bathurst à l'époque et qui accommodera près du magasin de W J Kent une salle de cinéma moderne très fréquentée. Quand le cinéma est devenu un divertissement public, c'est lui qui a équipé et exploité l'Opéra comme le premier cinéma de Bathurst, et son fils, Peter J. Leger, qui dirigeait cette entreprise, maintenant le Théâtre Capitol, a toujours été des principaux hommes de théâtre de la province.

John P. Leger family
John P. Leger family (ca 1910)
front (left to right): Osithe, Edmond, Peter, John
back (left to right): Régina, Arthur, Hector, Leo and Marie-Ursule

Facebook, poasted by Rene Doucet, 2018-06-16
Bathurst, New Brunswick - Genealogy and old photos

Le 8 mars 1911, l'Évangéline signalait que John P Léger « doit construire une nouvelle écluse sur la rivière Tetagouche pour l'installation de son nouveau pouvoir électrique ». La population de la ville s'habituait maintenant à l'éclairage électrique et devenait de plus en plus exigeante, de sorte que la faible puissance générée par la première installation ne répondait plus aux demandes croissantes d'énergie électrique. Les gens disaient que les ampoules n'éclairaient pas plus que les vieilles chandelles.

A la fin de décembre 1912, l'écluse en ciment construite par James Hill de Chatham mesurant 270 pieds de longueur par 30 pieds de hauteur avec chute de 62 pieds était terminée. La vanne d'écoulement dynamitée dans le roc solide donnait sur un passage entre les rochers, qui avait été ouvert par le propriétaire d'un ancien moulin au pied des chutes. En 1919, il vendit son pouvoir électrique qui opérait sous le nom de Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co à la compagnie du moulin de Bathurst, « une nouvelle compagnie qui fait de gigantesques travaux au village de la mine : on dit que les pouvoirs seront assez forts pour envoyer le courant électrique jusqu'à Québec ».

Le lundi 25 mai 1908, des étincelles des locomotives avaient mis le feu dans les hangars à marchandises et le shed à charbon de l'Intercolonial à Bathurst pour se répandre à l'Hôtel Léger où John demeurait, causant des pertes de 10,000$.

L'affaire dut en venir devant les tribunaux. M. Léger exigeait 7,000$ en dommages à sa maison et ses bâtisses, alors que l'Intercolonial n'admettait de responsabilité que pour 5,000$. L'affaire fut portée en appel et cette fois les avocats se montrèrent plus exigeants de sorte qu'en novembre 1910 il obtenait des dédommagements de 17,000$ en tout.

Entre temps l'hôtel reconstruit était vendu à Azade Landry de Moncton qui en prenait possession le lundi 16 mai 1910. L'Hôtel Léger devait encore passer au feu le 3 février 1915, forçant les occupants à se sauver précipitamment, dont les curés Dutour de Paquetville et Jean Doucet de Bathurst qui déplorait la perte de « son beau capot de fourrure ». En se lançant dans la production d'une usine productrice d'électricité, John Légère voulait être en mesure de bien alimenter ses entreprises: ses hôtels, sa salle de cinéma ainsi qu'une boulangerie des plus moderne dite « boulangerie modèle où tout se fait au moyen de l’électricité » et pour laquelle il avait engagé au début de décembre 1920 un boulanger de 19 ans d'expérience. Sa boulangerie, la Leger's Bakery, était installée dans le sous-sol de l'Opera House, une nouveauté à l'époque. La boulangerie avait son propre camion destiné à assurer partout dans la région la livraison de son pain frais.

En 1920, M. Leger cède sa participation dans Bathurst Electric and Water Power Co. Ltd. à Bathurst Power and Paper Co. Ltd. et établit peu de temps après l'hôtel Gloucester.

Ceci est un bref aperçu des nombreux services publics que cet homme, John P. Leger, a initié dans et pour Bathurst. Pour son esprit d'entreprise, John Léger fut certainement un des grands promoteurs du développement de la ville de Bathurst au début du siècle. On l'a appelé « le roi du commerce à Bathurst ». John mourut à Bathurst le 12 avril 1952 à 90 ans, avec funérailles dans la cathédrale par Mgr Dosithé Robichaud.

SOURCES

Evariste Léger:- Histoire de Saint-Antoine, p 22.
The Gloucester Northern Light: 1915-02-10 p 4; 1938-04-07; 1943-12-30.
L'Evangéline: 1889-06-02 p 3; 1911-03-08; 1915-02-10; 1919-12-15 p 4; 1920-12-09; 1920-12-15 p 3; 1930-06-26 p 5.
Le Courrier des Provinces Maritimes: 1898-03-31; 1903-06-25.
Le Moniteur Acadien: 1898-06-20; 1903-03-30 p 7; 1904-02-04 p 7; 1904-08-11 p 5; 1908-05-28; 1909-06-17; 1910-05-19; 1910-12-01 p 3.
The World, Chatham, 1913-01-08 p 2 c 3; 1911-02-22.
Moncton Daily Times, 1952-04-17, pg 2
The Busy East (1920), p 68.
Registre paroissial: Bouctouche.

Français